Long Bay Club

The course was in wonderful shape and fun to play. The staff was also great, made us feel welcome right away. Long Bay is a great value.

Raymond on 03/30/18

River Oaks Plantation

Painfully slow; 3hr35min front nine; played behind a fivesome; very bumpy outside fairways so go slow in your gas powered (read noisy) golf cart; friendly staff cannot make up for totally average conditions at best and overcrowded course.

Eddie Mack on 05/08/18

Colonial Charters Golf Club

This course layout is good, but the grounds could use some work.

Gwendolyn on 03/29/18

Pine Lakes Country Club

Nice course but a little slow play wise. Windy day. Will be back.

Patrick on 03/29/18

Barefoot Resort: Love

Overall great experience at barefoot.
Definitely plan on coming back.

Michael on 03/29/18

Colonial Charters Golf Club

This course layout is good, but the grounds could use some work.

Gwendolyn on 03/29/18

Myrtle Beach Golf Course Reviews By The Fairway Insider

MyrtleBeachGolf.com has booked over 5 million rounds of golf in Myrtle Beach, SC. Our golfers know better than anyone how a course is playing!  After each round we ask golfers to share their experience, so that we can be sure to collect the most comprehensive golf course reviews for your convenience!  Browse our exclusive “Pro Reviews” to find out what our pros think! These beneficial reviews will be found with a green icon attached. Know before you go, and please return the favor right here so your fellow golfers will know too! 

  • Arrowhead Country Club

    on 05/16/18

    For the past several days we have been staying in a condo in Arrowhead's community overlooking the golf course so I have been eager to test drive this course.

    To start off this golf community is A+...clean, modern and friendly. This is the type of place one would look to relocate to. Now for the course.

    Arrowhead Golf Course is exceptionally well manicured. The tee blocks and fairways are "plush" with thin bladed grass similar to the grasses found in more northern regions of the US/Canada. Greens are cut short and roll true, however a few small damaged areas around the edges were found but really are not in play (said to be the result of a hard winter). The course layout is a fair test allowing the golfer to use most of his clubs. Water carries at the green are common on the Cypress 9 but not overpowering. From the tees a well struck drive often leads to a manageable mid iron approach shot. A 9 hole replay cost $20 and returning within 7 days costs $52 all day.

    The golf course staff was pleasant and beyond helpful.....carted my wife back to out condo allowing me to play 9 more.

    In short Arrowhead golf course and Arrowhead community are top notch and should be added to anyone's list looking for a good golfing experience and possibly looking for a future home. We have liked it so much we are already booked for a second day.

    View Course Information
  • Legends – Moorland

    on 05/15/18

    We had a group,of nine playing our first round of our annual trip.We could not believe that the Legends would allow anyone to play a course in such condition.

    14 of the greens had little or no grass at all. Simply unplayable. When the ranger came up to at the sixth green, he asked us how we were doing? We asked him where the greens went to? He tried to make believe that the greens were ok. Stevie Wonder could see that was not the case, infuriating!!!
    When we got back to the club house, there was a line of people vociferously complaining about the greens. All the kid could do was give me number to call.

    I called the number the next day and the head pro immediately offered to give us rain checks. He knew the course was unplayable. I could'nt understand how he could let people out on a course in such horrible condition. When he tried to explain, I had to cut him off and just say thanks for the rain checks.

    Thanks for making our first day at Myrtle Beach so infuriating Moorland at the Legends...well done....well done indeed

    View Course Information
  • MBN – West Course

    on 05/14/18

    MBN is an older course in the area. Having played here some 20 years ago I was eager to see what I had forgotten.

    First off the entrance to the golf course off of the main highway is odd as it connects onto a side street before reaching the main road to the golf course. This "false entrance" was once impressive but now it looks neglected. The main road to the clubhouse winds through a nice residential neighbourhood.

    When you arrive at the course it's clubhouse is impressive in size but does look a bit tired on the outside. The pro shop is large, well stocked and the staff were friendly.

    The day we played the west course was completely vacant possibly the result of warmer than normal weather and the fact that it was Mother's Day. The starter was chatty and offered sugestions on sister courses to play.

    This course has very wide and level fairways lined with large pines throughout. Precision off the tee is not necessary and in many spots the tees and parts of the fairways were "baked". The greens were green and receptive but many were pot marked. Almost all of the greens are slanted in one direction or another so choosing the right line and pace is needed in order to get your first put in the hole. This course has a number of parallel holes but doesn't not wind amongst the neighbourhood homes. Overall the course layout is good however you can tell this course is aged and has not been updated (I.e. Washrooms dated, sand trap rakes were damaged, and cart paths were uneven and spotty). We paid $40 to play on a Sunday afternoon and finished in just over 3 hours so not complaining.

    Overall I'd say this course is well priced for what you get. However, with the name "Palmer" associated to it one would expect a bit more TLC.

    View Course Information
  • River Hills Country Club

    on 05/14/18

    This golf course is located in the North Myrtle Beach area but easily accessible from anywhere in the area. Pro shop employees were quite friendly and merchandise was reasonably priced. We arrived a bit early and were able to get out immediately but keep in mind Myrtle Beach courses double tee so this isn't a given. The pace of play was respectful (roughly 4 hours) and the cost was reasonable even for a weekend ($40 afternoon mid May).

    Course
    The course is a fair test with multiple tee blocks spread widely apart (men/women) with no long carries making it enjoyable for all levels of golf. The grounds were in good shape (albeit not plush) and tee blocks/greens were not over used. Except for holes 1 and 10 none run parallel to others. The course winds through a residential community but does not feel urban as it is abundant with towering pines, greenery along the edges and strategically placed water hazards. Sand traps are well placed well kept and not punishing. The sand is fine grain and well packed allowing for green side explosions. The greens run true and we're of average speed but take heed...greens are not only smaller but quite narrow throughout so accuracy and distance control is important (depending on pin locations).

    Overall
    This is the first course of our trip so nothing else to compare against. That said having played this game for the past 40 years I would say River Hills Country Club was a good way to start a golf vacation....especially if you are a couple.

    View Course Information
  • Pine Lakes Country Club

    on 05/11/18

    This course can compete with the clubs I played out in the Eastern side of Phoenix. Well manicured greens and the fairways were like playing off a plush carpet. A definite to play and return to play again.

    View Course Information
  • Colonial Charters Golf Club

    on 05/11/18

    This is by far the worst course I have ever played in Myrtle Beach. The fairways, tees & greens all in terrible condition and with construction almost on every hole putting up MORE condos. The driving range was sacrificed to put up MORE condos. The only interest it seems is to BUILD more condos and forget the course. Save your money there are MUCH better opportunities.

    View Course Information
  • Grande Dunes Resort Club

    on 05/10/18

    After playing this course last year on our annual golf trip, we were looking forward to playing this course again. The staff as always was exceptional. The tee boxes and fairways were in ok shape, the majority of the greens were in terrible condition leaving us disappointed. Until the grounds crew can get the greens back into shape, I would avoid playing here.

    View Course Information
  • Grande Dunes Resort Club

    on 05/10/18

    This is a great great course to play. Better have your putting game in shape cause these greens are beautiful and fast. Fairways and tee boxes were excellent. Employees are top notch. Attend to your every need. If you are looking for a top golf course to play, this is it.

    View Course Information
  • Man O’ War Golf Club

    on 05/10/18

    Hadn't been to MB for 6 years, but always like to play MoW when we're in the area. The course doesn't require pinpoint accuracy, but overly errant shots may get punished. A few holes really require some local knowledge, or a fancy GPS, or you need to drive up and look, but most holes are pretty straightforward from looking at the scorecard. On this day, the greens were smooth and running at a nice medium pace, but were very firm ... full iron shots were leaving only small dents and taking big first hops. Staff were all pleasant. By far the biggest neagtive: as others have noted, you will definitely be cleaning goose crap off your shoes at the end of the round!

    View Course Information
  • Aberdeen Country Club

    on 05/08/18

    Great course for the price. A lot of courses are struggling with their greens because of ice over the winter, but not Aberdeen. The pro shop also worked us in on the third nine so we were able to play all 27 holes. Definitely will be back.

    View Course Information
  • River Oaks Plantation

    on 05/08/18

    Painfully slow; 3hr35min front nine; played behind a fivesome; very bumpy outside fairways so go slow in your gas powered (read noisy) golf cart; friendly staff cannot make up for totally average conditions at best and overcrowded course.

    View Course Information
  • Wachesaw East

    on 05/08/18

    Very disappointed in the course nice layout but terrible condition fairways weren’t they good and greens were the worst I played since I’ve been here. For the money not worth it

    View Course Information
  • Aberdeen Country Club

    on 05/08/18

    Was absolutely floored by the immaculate course conditions presented by the Aberdeen country club. Greens smooth & true, fairways and tees straight pure. Absolute steal for the rates they charge, O and the staff was phenomenal as well A++ experience 🙂

    View Course Information
  • Founders Club

    on 05/08/18

    This course is an excellent layout. It features little to no rough and all waste bunkers, (much like the home to American golf Pinehurst). It is a difficult track which is why people say they don't like it. If you can't get out of the sand you're going to have a long day. The conditions were spot on. Any negative reviews you hear about this course come from high handicappers who can't hit a sand shot, they put up a monster number and then say the course sucks. Anyone who knows a lick about golf and golf course design will appreciate this track. If you're a hacker go play a pitch & putt leave the real golf courses to the real golfers !

    View Course Information
  • Litchfield Country Club

    on 05/08/18

    First time playing Litchfield the golf course was in excellent condition and the staff were A1. Not my favorite layout for me, (too many doglegs) but all in all a hell of a deal for the course quality.

    View Course Information
  • Grande Dunes Resort Club

    on 05/08/18

    greens were banged up, deceased not what I expected for premium resort

    View Course Information
  • Brick Landing Plantation

    on 04/12/18

    Too much water for my wife. She couldn't wait to get off the course. Greens were terrible. I would not recommend this to any serious mid to low handicapper.

    View Course Information
  • Myrtlewood Palmetto

    on 04/12/18

    Nice course but the greens were in terrible shape. I understand they had ice problems. They really n eed marshalls out there. Very slow...some groups left the course due to backups. Delays like this can ruin a round and some will never go back. All courses need to understand that this is the one thing that will prevent people from ever going back.

    View Course Information
  • Crow Creek Golf Club

    on 04/09/18

    Vow! This course is in a GREAT shape! Tee, fairways and greens are really good. The ball really rolls on these new greens. Best course in the area at this stage of the season for sure.

    View Course Information
  • Aberdeen Country Club

    on 04/02/18

    Everyone was very friendly. I was alone but tried to play with a group. Unfortunately there weren't any available. Played the front in record time and making the turn the foursome let me through gladly. Unfortunately there was a foursome that wouldn't let me play through. It was open in front of them too. These guys were teeing from the gold tees and were probably in their 40's but still were taking 8's and 9's. No ranger at all to teach them golf etiquette. Course was in good shape. I really enjoyed playing there. I would definitely play there again.

    View Course Information
  • Caledonia Golf & Fish Club

    on 03/30/18

    Course was in great condition considering time of year.

    View Course Information
  • Burning Ridge Golf Club

    on 03/30/18

    Course was in good condition considering time of year

    View Course Information
  • TPC of Myrtle Beach

    on 03/30/18

    Save for Caledonia this is the top course in the Myrtle Beach area. Immaculate conditioning for a course that sees so many rounds played. Staff worked hard to keep up pace of play, though the difficulty of the course still makes rounds creep above the 5hr mark even with active rangering. Best greens I have played in MB area. Excellent range with free range balls.

    View Course Information
  • World Tour Golf Links

    on 03/30/18

    Interesting layout

    View Course Information
  • Colonial Charters Golf Club

    on 03/30/18

    Course had alot of water on it but was still very playable.

    View Course Information

No results found matching your filters, please try again or clear your search.